Nato summit live updates: Biden should delay candidacy decision until after Nato – Pelosi


Which countries are Nato members?published at 11:57

Nato has 32 members across Europe and North America, including the UK, US, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Turkey.

After the Soviet Union’s collapse in 1991, many Eastern European countries joined: Albania, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Romania, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia.

Sweden and Finland applied to join in May 2022, following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. They had been neutral for decades.

Finland – which has a 1,340km (832 mile) land border with Russia – joined in April 2023. Sweden became a member in March 2024.

The addition of Sweden and Finland represents the biggest Nato expansion since the 1990s. The two countries contribute nearly 300,000 active and reserve troops to the alliance’s ranks.

Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Georgia also hope to join Nato.

Share post:


More like this

Why is Tyra Banks serving ice cream in D.C.? Here’s the scoop.

For her decades-long career strutting runways and hosting “America’s...

Global Microsoft outage live updates: DC-area hospitals, flights and courts affected

What to KnowMicrosoft products worldwide went offline overnight Friday...

DE Dorance Armstrong ‘Less Than Ideal’ as Washington Commanders No. 1 EDGE Rusher

Part of the Washington Commanders offseason overhaul was completely...

What to do if your airline was affected by the Microsoft outage

Frontier wrote on X Thursday night: “During this time...