Who will be presenting at the Film Independent Spirit Awards?


With the Film Independent Spirit Awards less than a week away, the presenters for the ceremony have recently been announced. The ceremony will honor the most appraised independent films and TV series of the year.

To qualify for a Film Independent Spirit award, the project must be officially submitted ahead of time during the eligibility time frame. Each category has different requirements, but all feature films nominated must have a budget of $30 million or less.

Presenters and Hosts

Several big stars will be presenting the awards throughout the evening. The official list of presenters includes Austin Butler, Beatrice Grann, Sharon Horgan, Michaela Jae Rodriguez, Troy Kotsur, Haley Lu Richardson, Melanie Lynskey, Taylour Paige, and Jenny Slate.

This group will join Chloé Zhao and Siân Heder, Academy Award winners and Fellows of Film Independent, who were earlier named Honorary Co-Chairs.

“We are thrilled to continue our partnership with The Wallis, bringing to their stage our signature programs Film Independent Presents and Directors Close-Up on the eve of the Film Independent Spirit Awards,” said Josh Welsh, President of Film Independent.

Welsh continues, “Like the Spirit Awards themselves, this year’s line-up is a true confluence of bold, original filmmakers who are creating the most provocative and imaginative work today.”

Earlier this year, Hasan Minhaj was announced as this year’s host for the ceremony. Minhaj is an American comedian, writer, producer, host, and actor. His most memorable work was with ‘The Daily Show’ as a correspondent. As well as his role for two consecutive seasons on Apple TV+ drama “The Morning Show.”

Last year, Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman co-hosted the ceremony, which aired live on IFC and AMC+. This year, the show will be streamed through IMDb and will be available to watch live on Film Independent’s YouTube channel.

The broadcast will start on March 4, 2023, at 5:00 p.m. EST.

Notable Nominations

The complete list of nominations is available on Film Independent’s website. Notably, the film ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ received the most nominations, with eight total.

Several TV series also received multiple nominations. ‘Abbott Elementary,’ ‘The Bear,’ ‘Severance,’ and ‘Station Eleven’ all received three nominations in total.

‘Pachinko’ is also the only TV series nominated for the category Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series. With only one nomination in the category, it’s safe to assume that the series will bring home at least one win for the night.

Share post:


More like this

Big Ten, SEC champions to receive first-round byes in proposed 14-team CFP model, per reports

Talking college and professional football with former linebacker Dhani...

Manatee stamps coming out to spread awareness about threatened species

Manatee Appreciation Day is coming up. In honor of...

OU football finalizing new contract for co-defensive coordinator Todd Bates, per report

NORMAN — The OU football program is finalizing a...